Kolkata: The West Indies women’s cricket team put on a dominant show with the bat to emerge champions of the World Twenty20 as they beat Australia by eight wickets in the final at the Eden Gardens here on Sunday.

For the West Indies, Hayley Matthews (66) and captain Stafanie Taylor (59) were the top two run-scorers chasing Australia’s decent total of 148/5.

This is the first time the West Indies have won the trophy.

By winning, they put a halt to Australia’s juggernaut that had won three consecutive World T20s from 2010 onwards.

Earlier Fifties each from Elyse Villani and captain Meg Lanning propelled the Australian women’s cricket team to the total of 148/5 in the World Twenty20 final against the West Indies.

Lanning and Villani scored 52 runs each for the three-time defending champions. For the West Indies, Deandra Dottin returned the figures of 2/33.

After electing to bat, Australia got off to a flyer even after losing an early wicket. Alyssa Healy in the second over was out caught and bowled by Hayley Matthews with the score reading 15/1.

But then the other opener Villani and Lanning took the innings forward with some exquisite shots. At the end of the powerplay, Australia managed to notch 54 runs.

The duo continued to score freely with Villani being the aggressor. The West Indies finally were able to break the 77-run partnership in the 12th over.

Ellyse Perry (28) hit a few big ones in the last three overs to take the score to a commendable one. Brief scores: Australia: 148/5 (Elyse Villani 52, Meg lanning 52; Deandra Dottin 2/33, Hayley Matthews 1/13) vs West Indies.

feature photo: Hayley Matthews of West Indies in action during T20 World Cup 2016 (Women’s) at Eden Gardens in Kolkata, on April 3, 2016

Similar Posts by The Author: