Mumbai, May 18: Royal Challengers Bangalore skipper Virat Kohli surpassed his team-mate Chris Gayle’s record of 733 runs in a single IPL season during his match-winning knock of 75 not out off 51 balls in the 48th match of IPL 2016 against Kolkata Knight Riders on Monday.

During his knock, Kohli survived a life when he was dropped on 32 by KKR skipper Gautam Gambhir at backward point off Shakib Al Hasan in the 11th over.

Gayle’s 733 runs in 14 innings came in 2012 edition which was equalled by Chennai Super Kings’ Michael Hussey the following year. However, the Australian took three more innings to match the landmark.

Kohli bettered the record in his 12th innings this season. His run of scores in the tournament read: 75, 79, 33, 80, 100*, 14, 52, 108*, 20, 7 and 109 and 75*. Kohli’s tally after 12 matches stands at 752 runs.

Kohli has been on a record spree this IPL as he had earlier broken Robin Uthappa’s record for most runs by an Indian batsman in a single season, striking an audacious 109 off 55 balls against Gujarat Lions in his previous match.

With that ton, he had also become the first batsman to hit three centuries in a single IPL.

Kohli went past Uthappa’s tally of 660, which was achieved in 2014 by the Kolkata Knight Riders’ wicketkeeper-batsman.

Kohli also became the first captain to score more than 500 runs in IPL in three different seasons and in doing so, he broke Sachin Tendulkar’s record, who had achieved this feat twice as captain of Mumbai Indians. Sachin plundered 618 runs in the 2010 edition and 553 runs in the 2011 edition of the IPL.

Kohli, 27, entered the ninth season of the IPL with 625 runs for India in Twenty20 internationals this year – including seven half-centuries – which is the most for any batsman in the format in a calendar year. During his 52 against KKR on May 2, he then surpassed Suresh Raina’s tally of 1042 runs in 2010, which the previous record for most runs by an Indian batsman in T20 cricket in a year.

He now has 1377 runs.

The overall leader for most runs in all T20 cricket in a year remains Gayle, who scored 1665 at an average of 59.46 in 36 matches in 2015. The big-hitting West Indian occupies the second, third and fifth spots in the top ten list, scoring 1532 in 2012, 1497 in 2011 and 1344 in 2013.

Former Australia batsman David Hussey is next with 1275 in 49 matches in 2010, followed by Ryan ten Doeschate (1248 in 2013), Lendl Simmons (1209 in 2014), Dwayne Smith (1203 in 2014) and David Warner (1181 in 2011).

Similar Posts by The Author: